Why I think old people are pretty damn cool.

Now, do not take offence or believe that I am calling you ‘old’ simply because you have lived longer than me. In my opinion, ‘old’ gives off all the wrong ideas. Old makes me think of outdated, something not interesting enough any more. Something past it’s time.

Truth is, you never have to be ‘past your time’. As long as you live, you’re in your time, you don’t have a ‘sell by’ date. Technically you’re best before you die, but you won’t start rotting away before that (and if you do, please see a doctor). Age can be seen in lots of different ways. I’m ‘too old’ to be a child any more- but now I’m apparently a ‘young person‘ (sounds more sophisticated than it actually is). You can be a young 90-year-old, and old toddler. When I’m 70, I’d rather not be called and ‘OAP’… ‘Senior Citizen’, you’ve got to be joking. Your Nan can be just as witty and sharp as you, so don’t think you’re fooling anybody.

I don’t really want to grow up. And the thing is, I don’t actually have to… You tend to find that behind the wrinkles and the sun spots and the ashy hair, there’s a little girl or boy who still loves dolls and storybooks and their mum’s homemade jam. Yes, it is unnatural to prevent your body from ageing, but your mind stays as you wish. Just because I’ll be 15 this year doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy playgrounds and cartoons any more. There’s nothing quite like putting on the most beautiful dress you’ve ever seen, and imagining you’re a princess. As you grow, you’ll forget the novelty of dressing up. It never gets old for me.

Now the real best thing about old people is you can learn a lot from them. They’ll tell you about the time before Facebook and Iphones, a time before everyone wore t-shirts with weed on them, a time when the world was different. If I could choose between growing up now or in the 60s, I’d pick the swinging 60s. Maybe then I would’ve turned out to be very different. And maybe that wouldn’t be a bad thing. They’ll tell you about the mistakes they made, they’ll teach you immaculate manners, they’ll share experiences. Because when you’re their age, you’ll look back and think “God, was that really me back then?”. You tend to find that older citizens have the best outlook on life- you can see it in their eyes when they speak about their past, you can see it in the way they stare into nothingness, visualizing it before them. I want to think like that one day. I think, being 80 won’t be all that bad.

Adults aren’t that awesome. ‘Old’ people are. Be old. Be wise. Be insightful.

Shmelted×

3 thoughts on “Why I think old people are pretty damn cool.

  1. I love this post! I can totally relate. I’m slightly older than you but I find myself hanging on to almost every word my grandparents and their siblings say. I like to think I’m an old soul since I was raised around them and I wouldn’t have it any other way! 🙂

    Like

  2. “Truth is, you never have to be ‘past your time’. As long as you live, you’re in your time, you don’t have a ‘sell by’ date.” That is such beautiful honesty. I really enjoyed this post and agreed with every word. Age is just a number but our youth lies in our mind and the child we never let die.

    Like

Leave a Reply

