A letter to my old self

Dear, me.
Remind yourself that it’s okay not to be perfect. Things aren’t going to be easy, but that’s alright. Everything will work out. Never take anything for granted; family, friends, health, material things like your house and clothes. You never realise how much you need it until you try and live without it.

Read more books. Drink more tea, explore more places. Educate yourself. Embrace every minute that you are awake. Life certainly isn’t short but time moves on quicker than you think. A year will pass by before you even know it. Listen to more music, voice your opinions, learn that you have the right to say NO. Grow plants. Change lives with simple favours. No gift is ever too small.

Don’t fall into routines. Don’t stick around in the same place for too long. Never let yourself fall into a ‘comfort zone’.
Make art! Paint more, draw more, experiment more! Take pictures of EVERYTHING. Remember that following how you feel in the moment is more important than what is to come. Allow yourself to be curious. Allow your mind to wander. Allow your feelings to fluctuate freely.

Say what you feel. If you love someone, let them know. Question everything, ignore nothing. Challenge other people’s opinions, never let anyone feel superior to you. Don’t let adults believe that they are always right- many of them have contributed to the damage we see in the world right now.
Do things while you still can. Take a chance. Be yourself. Don’t be afraid to be confident in yourself. Never forget the dangers of reality but don’t mull over it. Be sensible. Be smart. Let yourself be free.
Live spontaniously.

6 thoughts on “A letter to my old self

  1. Thank you for this, you’ve inspired me today. I’m now having a clear out of clothes and shiz because i need a change. Of identity and general stuff and this post got me off my arse to do so. i know it doesn’t seem much but it is so thank you. I hope you have a great day and find a £20 note on the floor or something!

    Like

    • You’re welcome! That was the point I was trying to get across. (By the way… I’ll keep hoping about that £20, but so far today it’s not happened)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Why haS MY HEAD GONE BLANK? and philosophical questions about life. | Being Shmelted

  3. Hello;
    Today, I visited your blog, first of all congratulation for creating this wonderful blog, still, I have not read it completely but your this post simply I like and love in fact this letter is applicable to all.
    We do have a many common passion and I think we can become best blogging friends, if interested please feel free to visit my blog, read my some of the posts and if you feel I am worth of your friendship without any hesitation comment on my most recent post and that will be the beginning of best blogging friendship, remember, everything is optional.
    Wishing you all the best……………………………..

    Like

  4. Thanks for considering me worth of your friendship, and visit,reading,comment and subscription of my blog, to nurture our new and very delicate friendship, I move one step ahead and subscribed for your blog, if you too do the same we will have a more opportunities to communicate with each others, what do you think???????????????????
    Wishing you all the best………………….

    Like

Leave a Reply

